Badminton Association of India Unveils Thomas and Uber Cup Squad

Indian Thomas and Uber Cup Squad for 2024

The Badminton Association of India (BAI) has unveiled the squads for both the men’s and women’s teams set to compete in the upcoming BWF Thomas and Uber Cup finals 2024, scheduled to take place in Chengdu, China from April 27 to May 5.

Ten players have been selected for the Thomas Cup, including five singles players: Kiran George, Lakshya Sen, Kidambi Srikanth, Priyanshu Rajawat, and H. S. Prannoy. In addition, Sai Pratheek, MR Arjun, and Dhruv Kapila have been chosen as backup doubles players to assist the major pairs of World No. 1 Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty.

Given the rigorous Paris Olympic qualification phase that many top players have undergone leading up to the tournament, the selection committee, consisting of Chief National Coach Pulella Gopichand, along with former Indian veterans U. Vimal Kumar, Jwala Gutta, Manjusha Kanwar, Partho Ganguly, and Mallika Baruah Sarma, decided to include an additional singles player to bolster the squad.

Reflecting on the selections, Sanjay Mishra, the General Secretary of BAI, highlighted the importance of having depth in both singles and doubles categories. He mentioned that Sai Pratheek’s inclusion as an extra doubles player came after consultation with Mathias Boe, the Danish doubles coach, ensuring that the team is prepared for any unforeseen circumstances such as injuries or the need for player recovery.

The Indian men’s team made history two years ago in Thailand by securing its first-ever Thomas Cup title with a remarkable 3-0 victory over Indonesia in the final. This year’s squad aims to build upon that success and make a strong impression on the international stage once again.

Thomas Cup Squad 2024:

Thomas Cup Squad for Singles:- HS Prannoy, Lakshya Sen, Kidambi Srikanth, Priyanshu Rajawat and Kiran George;
Thomas Cup Squad for Doubles:- Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, Chirag Shetty, MR Arjun, Dhruv Kapila and Sai Pratheek

Uber Cup Squad 2024:

Uber Cup Squad forSingles:- Anmol Kharb, Tanvi Sharma, Ashmita Chaliha and Isharani Baruah;
Uber Cup Squad Doubles:- Shruti Mishra, Priya Konjengbam, Simran Singhi and Ritika Thaker.

Exit mobile version